Museum releases bobblehead for Ohio State 1960 men’s basketball national championship By Staff report
Longtime Ohio State men’s basketball fans will go nuts over this news.
The National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum has released an Ohio State Buckeyes 1960 men’s basketball national championship bobblehead.
The Brutus bobbleheads are part of a collection commemorating NCAA men’s basketball national championships for 10 Division 1 schools; each school’s bobblehead is individually numbered to only 216, according to the museum.
The 1960 men’s team was coached by Fred Taylor and had three future Hall of Famers on their roster — center Jerry Lucas, forward John Havlicek, and reserve forward Bob Knight, who entered the Hall for his storied coaching career, most notably at Indiana — according to a news release.
The Buckeyes steamrolled through the NCAA tournament by an average of 19.5 points a game, defeating California 75-55 in the championship game, according to a news release.