Tulsa Drillers win Texas League Organization of the Year award By Barry Lewis

For the sixth time since the award began in 1989, the Tulsa Drillers have been named the Texas League’s Organization of the Year.
The Drillers also captured the honor in 1992, 1996, 2004, 2013 and 2014. It is presented annually to honor a franchise for its successful operation and is chosen by a vote from the directors of all the league’s teams.
The Drillers increased their attendance this season, drawing a combined 393,631 for the regular season and playoffs — the fourth-largest total in Tulsa pro baseball history that dates to 1905. A crowd of 6,026 for Game 3 of the Texas League Championship Series was the largest home playoff attendance for Tulsa since 1950.
“This award is presented to our staff, but it is really a recognition for all of our great Drillers fans and corporate partners who support our team so passionately,” Drillers president and general manager Mike Melega said in a news release.

Tulsa’s regular-season attendance ranked second in the Texas League, fifth overall out of 30 Double-A teams and 29th out of 160 affiliated teams in the minors.
The Drillers also won Minor League Baseball’s 2017 Golden Bobble Head Award for best new on-field promotion with their Usher Base Race that was featured in the season’s second half.
Last week, the Drillers were named the Crystal Awards Family Owned Business of the Year by the Tulsa Small Business Connection, a division of the Tulsa Regional Chamber.