Fort Wayne Daisies featured in limited edition bobblehead series By

Fort Wayne’s all female baseball team is part of an officially licensed, limited edition bobblehead series.
The All-American Girl Professional Baseball League (AAGPBL) and National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum revealed the complete set on Friday, August 17. In all, 15 historic women’s baseball teams are honored bobbleheads, including the Fort Wayne Daises.
In 1945, the Daisies were started in the Summit City. The team proved to be a fan favorite, winning several series during its tenure. After winning the regular season pennant three years in a row, the Daisies wrapped up its run in 1954.
Teams were formed by Philip Wrigley in World War II as men were away at war, according to the Fort Wayne History Center.  The AAGPBL operated from 1943 to 1954 with 640 female athletes. The Rockford Peaches and South Bend Blue Sox were the only teams in the league to play all twelve seasons.
“The women of the AAGPBL will forever be role models, and these bobbleheads commemorate their tremendous contribution to sports and society, said Phil Sklar, Co-Founder and CEO of the National Bobblehead Hall of Fame and Museum. “We are confident the bobbleheads will generate even more interest in the AAGPBL while inspiring women throughout the world to follow their dreams and passions.
The bobbleheads mark the 75th anniversary of the league’s unique place in American baseball history. Only 500 are available per team.